food tourism scotland logo
 the toolkit

bass rock

In this section

Specific Allergies

Coeliac disease

People with coeliac disease need to avoid foods containing gluten. This means they need to avoid all foods containing cereals - wheat, barley and rye, and some also need to avoid oats.

Lots of foods contain wheat, such as bread, pasta and semolina, plus pizza, pastry, biscuits and cakes. Wheat flour is used in most processed foods, for example in soups and sauces. Foods in batter or breadcrumbs aren't suitable for people with coeliac disease.

Naturally gluten-free cereals include rice flour, tapioca flour, potato flour, cornflour, cornmeal, soya flour, gram flour and buckwheat flour. You can also buy special products that are suitable for people with coeliac disease, such as gluten-free bread and gluten-free pasta. If you are aware in advance, you can ask guests on gluten-free diets to bring their flour (make sure it is unopened so that you can be sure it is not contaminated) - they can get it either from their own GP or can buy it in supermarkets

There are certain items which contain gluten that may not at first be obvious and should be avoided. They include baking powder, stock cubes, mustard powder, packet suet, ready-grated cheese, soy sauce, spice mixes, gravy granules, soy sauce, burgers, sausages, dry-roasted nuts, food that has been deep-fried with other gluten-containing foods, processed meats, flavoured crisps, malted milk drinks and pick-and-mix sweets.

Coeliac Recipes

  1. Chocolate Fudge Pudding (Gluten free)
  2. Tattie Scones (using Gluten-Free flour)
  3. Hot Tattie scones with a Scottish vegetarian cheese e.g Cainsmore, cheddar
  4. Scottish crumpets (Using Gluten Free flour)

© Food Tourism | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions|