food tourism scotland logo
 the toolkit

shell fish

In this section

Specific Allergies

Fish and/or Shellfish Allergy

Allergic reactions to fish and shellfish are common in both adults and children. It is generally recommended that individuals who have had an allergic reaction to one species of fish, avoid all fish. The same rule applies to shellfish.

Some products that may contain some hidden sources of fish, include:

Carrageenan is not fish. Carrageenan, or "Irish moss," is a red marine algae. This food product is used in a wide variety of foods, particularly dairy foods, as an emulsifier, stabilizer, and thickener. It appears safe for most individuals with food allergies. Carrageenan is not related to fish or shellfish and does not need to be avoided by those with food allergies.


© Food Tourism | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions|