food tourism scotland logo
 the toolkit


In this section

Specific Allergies

Wheat Allergy

Wheat allergy is often confused with coeliac disease, though people with wheat allergy only have a response to wheat protein and must only avoid wheat. This includes cereal grains which are related to wheat, i.e. Kamut together with Spelt, an ancient wheat. Wheat-allergic patients can react as readily to Spelt and Kamut as they do to common wheat.

Lots of foods contain hidden wheat:

When baking with wheat-free flours, a combination of flours usually works best. Experiment with different blends to find one that will give you the texture you are trying to achieve.

Try substituting 1 cup wheat flour with one of the following:

Wheat allergy Recipes

  1. Brown Rice Pizza (Wheat Free Recipe)

© Food Tourism | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions|